Faithful Remembrances Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

12 Years Ago Today August 23, 2009

Filed under: Birthday Posts,Family,Noah — faithfulremembrances @ 8:54 pm
Tags: ,

I lay in hospital in South Texas, completely and totally spent after a grueling 64 1/2 hours of labor, delivering my sweet 10lb 8oz bouncing baby boy.  His head was so misshaped from his positioning in utero, that my first words upon seeing him for the first time were, “Please put a hat on that boy.”  He looked like something straight out of Star Trek with that forehead and the multitude of hills and valleys running across his head.  Despite his very scary looking head, I was completely smitten.  This child of mine was never really a baby.  At four days old, two strangers in the store, assumed he was four months old.  At one week old, he was sitting quietly in his swing, when my mom and dad walked into our apartment.  The little squirt grabbed the font of the tray on the swing and pulled himself forward so he could get a better look at who walked in the door.  It was then and there I decided I had miscalculated my due date by three months, and had in fact the longest pregnancy in the history of mankind.  He sat completely unassisted at three months, crawled at four and a half, was walking before the eight month mark, and spent his days keeping me on my toes.  By a year and a half he was talking in complete sentences.  It was like living with an alien.

He never did slow down.  It’s just who he is.  It’s how God made him.   He is just like his dad, in that whatever he tries to do, he keeps at it until he masters it.  He has the best sense of humor out of everyone in our home.  His quick wit and knack for nailing jokes with perfect timing, has, on more than a few occasions, left me laughing until I cried.  He has always had the sweetest disposition.  Most importantly he loves Jesus.  Noah is always quick to repentance, and quick to seek reconciliation.   God’s work in his heart and life is always evident in him.  I feel so blessed to get to be this guys mother.  To get to watch him become a man who loves and serves the Lord.  What an honor and privilege.

And now some birthday pictures.  (Nevermind the fact that they are terrible because I was too lazy and in too much of a hurry to take my camera out of automatic.  I have defintly learned my lessson, it won’t happen again.)

Happy Birthday Noah, we love you!

BWAAHAHA
noahbday6

"You told me I wasn't getting a video game."

noahbday7

He's so funny, he made himself laugh.

noahbday8

This is what I got, after I told him to smile for real.

The Stinky Towel

The curse of the stinky towel.

PS  I have a much past due birthday post for my mama to write.  Believe it or not, I TOTALLY forgot I was doing this birthday post thing.  I DIDN’T forget her birthday, I truly just forgot I was writing special posts on birthdays.  Sorry mom..it’s coming.  If the mind is the first thing to go…I’m in big trouble.

 

3 Responses to “12 Years Ago Today”

  1. Keltie Says:

    Happy birthday Noah! Your head looks great these days. 🙂

  2. Jena Penner Says:

    Happy Birthday Noah. I hope to meet you (and your fabulous family) in person one day.

  3. Christine Says:

    Nice blog! What a big baby!


Leave a Reply

