Faithful Remembrances Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Home Made Graham Crackers September 9, 2009

Filed under: Cooking,Healthy Living,Recipes — faithfulremembrances @ 4:26 pm

We don’t do corn syrup in our family.  I’m not a Nazi about it or anything like that…meaning that if we get it when we eat out or something I won’t have a heart attack.  BUT I do read labels, and if it has corn syrup in it, it does not make its way into our house.  Period.  We don’t eat anything with cotton seed, canola, soy, (which includes vegetable oil because it’s usually a mix of soy and canola) or corn for that matter.  UNLESS it is organic.  The OVERWHELMING majority of these crops grown in the USA are genetically modified.  If you don’t know what that means to your health and the health of you family, I would strongly encourage you to do a little google search on the dangers of genetically modified foods.  You just might be shocked and horrified at what you find out about it.

Bottom line, I want grandchildren.  Lots of them.  So I don’t feed this toxic garbage to my kids.

This means that a ton of yummy snack foods don’t pass our lips.  The scenario usually goes like this.

Some lovely person in my family asks for a particular food.

I read the label, and see all the nasty ingredients, then promptly put said item back on the shelf.

I say, “I will make it from scratch.”

Which for a lot of things, has been code for…learn to live with out it.

One thing that we have not been able to learn to live with out is crackers.  We like crackers around here.  So I started making home made crackers.  I thought I would give a shot at graham crackers, since I found a recipe that seemed pretty easy.  They turned out fabulous, and for less than an hour of work (including baking time) I got a pretty big bag of yummy, good for you graham crackers.  They make a lovely snack, and even a great breakfast with some peanut butter and milk.

Recipe is as follows:

1 1/2 cups of whole wheat flour

1/3 cup sugar

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

1/4 cup butter

1/2 teaspoon of salt

2 tablespoons molasses

1 teaspoon of vanilla

1/4 cup milk

I started off with fresh ground wheat.

014

If you don’t like wheat flour, I’d bet (if a were a betting woman) it’s because you have never had fresh ground wheat.  Wheat once it is ground, begins to go rancid within 72 hours.  So the stuff we get at the store, by the time we buy it and get it home for use, is basically rotten.  That’s why it taste rotten.

Then I added the rest of the dry ingredients and mixed them all together.

Next I mixed all  the wet ingredients in a separate bowl.

015

I used Sorghum syrup, instead of molasses.  I HEART Sorghum syrup.  It tastes a bit like molasses, but with a weaker flavor.  The only place I have ever been able to find pure Sorghum, without anything (like corn syrup) added in, is THIS place in Waco.  We go there every year at thanksgiving for their annual homestead and craft fair.  I have to stock up, while we are there.

024

Add dry ingredients to the wet and mix well.  At some pint it becomes easier to work the dough with your hands.  Knead the dough slightly, and form a cute little ball.

018

See that lovely pastry roller.  It is one of my most favorite kitchen gadgets.  I love it.  How I lived with out it all those years is simply beyond me.

Divide the dough and roll  out on to well greased cookie sheets or jelly roll pans.

Cut into squares and poke several times with a fork.

021

I tried using waxed paper this time, and it did not work out well at all.  Not sure what happened, but I won’t do it again.

Bake in a 325 degree oven, turning the pan around occasionally, until done.  They will get a bit darker, that is how I know they are done.  They don’t have to be too crispy, just nice and firm.   Remove from oven, and they will crisp up as they cool.

023

Then let your children enjoy a yummy snack, that won’t make them infertile…or contribute to a myriad of other diseases.

 

4 Responses to “Home Made Graham Crackers”

  1. LauraD Says:

    So here’s the deal. I buy you meds in UG and you make us some of those grahams…a nice big baggie full. WOW, those look great!!! I heart graham crackers.

    Question: what is graham flour? is there a graham grain or is it just the addition of molasses/sorghum that makes it graham?

  2. faithfulremembrances Says:

    I will make you some and have them ready for you and your clan, when you get back from Afrika :0)

    Graham flour is real…it is part of the wheat that is sifted out, ya know when they make that white refined bleached stuff. But having used the whole grain…I think it must be the molasses/sorghum that gives them the flavor.

    I can’t wait for meds, what would it be like to actually have my food digest? I can’t imagine.

  3. Keltie Says:

    Soooo…..what would it take to get you to pick me up some of that syrup next time? 😉 And where did you get your wheat grinder? I have just started my research, but so far it looks like I will be saving for a loong time before it happens!

    • faithfulremembrances Says:

      Keltie…mine was not cheap by any stretch…I looked FOREVER for a used one for a cheap price, to no avail. Then a friend, found one the first time she looked on craigslist for $50.00 brand new. You just have to look…I got mine off ebay….but I paid full price. Although it does have a lifetime warranty. I already had a problem with it and called them and they said, “No problem, I’ll send the part out to you today.” No questions asked…that was nice, I’m not used to that kind of customer service anymore.
      I heart my grinder….a lot :0)


Leave a Reply

