Faithful Remembrances Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Blessed November 20, 2009

Filed under: Family — faithfulremembrances @ 8:18 pm

I am incredibly blessed.

Seriously.

Tonight I had a craving for biscuits and gravy.

I walked into my kitchen, pulled out all the ingredients, and cooked what I was craving.

It was darn good too.

Why does this make me blessed?

Not only did I get to eat two full meals today,

I got to eat what I wanted, when I wanted it.

This floors me.

Seriously.

How many people didn’t get to eat today?

I got to eat twice.

How many people had to look their crying children in the eyes, and tell them once again, there is nothing for them to eat?

My children ate three good meals, and seconds to boot.

I got to eat what I wanted, both times I cooked today.  Even if I didn’t have the ingredients on hand, I could have just got in my car, drove to the nearest store, and purchased all I needed.

Some families, who are lucky enough to even have food, have eaten the same drab foods for months, even years.  Posho.  White rice.  Sometimes, on really good days,  beans.

Day after day.

Week after week.

They don’t complain, because they know how blessed they are to even have food.

Yes, I am blessed.

Thank you Lord, for your blessing of abundant provision for my family.  While I rejoice in your grace in providing for us, let me not forget those, who receive the grace to go without.

 

3 Responses to “Blessed”

  1. shannon Says:

    thank you for the reminder. sometimes I need to be reminded. today was one of those days. I appreciate you, Melissa!!

  2. Sheri Says:

    With Tova … AMEN!!


Leave a Reply

