Faithful Remembrances Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

I’m a Liar December 16, 2009

Filed under: Family — faithfulremembrances @ 10:35 am

It’s true.

That’s not a lie.

For the first time in a year and a half,  I’m so glad that Marissa has a major speech  problem.

Yesterday we went to the library.

Let me just interject here, that a trip to the library is uber stressful for this mother.  I love the library,  All those yummy books, just waiting to be read.  Calling out to me with their alluring covers, and catchy  titles. The smell of all that ink and paper.  The buzz of the computers.  The big soft chairs, just waiting for me to curl up in them and read for hours, in the sweet quiet.  Ah, so relaxing.

That is until you add five children into the mix.

Then suddenly it’s not about me and me finding books for me to read.

That’s right I wrote ME three times in that sentence.

No, it has to be all about finding books for THEM.

ANYWAY

We went to check out, and the lady at the check out desk has a noticeably small face.

My daughter, the sweet little cherub, walked right up to the lady, and flashed her big  award-winning smile.

Then she promptly said,  “You have a really skinny face!”

At  least that is what I heard.  I nervously eyed my son, and his eyes were bugging out of his head.

Before I could change the subject, the nice lady at the counter asked Marissa to repeat herself.

She happily said it again.

Yep, I had heard her right.

The nice lady, quickly looked to me for a translation.

“She said, You have a really pretty necklace.”

I’m real quick on my feet like that.

 

5 Responses to “I’m a Liar”

  1. Shara Says:

    AHHH! Good save!

  2. Tova Says:

    HA ha ha..hee hee hee….had those moments too. Gotta love those accents that most strangers can’t understand.

  3. laurad Says:

    liar liar pants on fire, hang them on a telephone wire…

  4. Keltie Says:

    LOL Oh Melissa. You are quick on your feet. Did I ever tell you about the time we saw a very large woman at Costco and my daughter very innocently and earnestly asked out loud how people get so fat?

  5. Kori Says:

    I think I know the lady you are talking about…. 🙂 Boy, it’s a good thing she had a necklace on. 🙂 Yeah, you’re quick!!! 🙂 My good friend’s daughter once asked a man at Home Depot “Why do you sweat so much?” I think this is how people started teaching their kids to not talk to strangers. It’s really not about safety.


Leave a Reply

