Faithful Remembrances Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Heavenly Minded February 4, 2010

Filed under: Family — faithfulremembrances @ 4:18 pm

“Don’t be so Heavenly minded you’re no earthly good.”

I can’t tell you how many times I have heard that phrase over the years.

I suppose it is meant to convey the message that we should get our head out of the clouds and thinking about eternity and start doing something today.

It occurred to me last night in home group that this phrase is in fact the OPPOSITE of what scripture teaches us.

Scripture tells us that to be any earthly good we HAVE to be Heavenly minded.

“Since then you have been raised with Christ, set your hearts on things above, where Christ is seated at the right hand of God. Set you minds on things above, not earthly things. For you died, and our life is now hidden with Christ in God. When Christ is, who is your life, appears, then you also will appear with Him in glory.” Colossians 3:1-4

Since I have been raised with Christ I am to set my heart and my mind on the things above.  My affections and desires are to be set on Christ and on eternity.  In light of Him and my future with Him, my life here on earth should look vastly different.

When my heart and mind are set on the things of this world, I have only concern for myself, my comfort, my success, my failures, my hopes, my dreams, my fears, my joy.  I am distracted by all the things this world has to offer and set my affections on them all.  I seek to make myself known and noticed.  My desires are all about what I want and what I think need.

I run around living as this is my eternity, and my time in Heaven will be a vapor.

I forget about the Lord and what He has done for me.

I forget my calling.

I forget His admonition to lay down my life in pick up my cross.

I forget His command to be salt and light.

I ignore His words, about where my true home is.

I forget where true joy is found.

I forget that the things of this world are worthless compared to my true inheritance.

I forget about the poor, the orphan, and the widow.

I ignore that there are lost and dying people all around me.

In short, I am worthless to the kingdom of Heaven.

When my perspective is where it needs to be, on Christ, His kingdom, and my true home, suddenly all things become clear.

I see what is truly important.

I begin to do the things that matter and last.

I begin to serve and love.

I take up my cross and follow Jesus.

I decrease, and magnify the Savior.

The only way I can ever be any good in this world, is to have my heart and mind consumed with the next.

 

3 Responses to “Heavenly Minded”

  1. Jacob Says:

    Excellent!

  2. Carol Lee Says:

    Excellent commentary–right on! I love the way you write.

  3. april Says:

    AMen! Thanks for this beautiful reminder! I LOVE what you wrote last “The only way I can ever be any good in this world, is to have my heart and mind consumed with the next” I think I’ve heard a quote similar to that before and LOVE it…so true!


Leave a Reply

