Faithful Remembrances Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Hitler, Temptation, Sewing, & Beans February 12, 2010

Filed under: Family — faithfulremembrances @ 7:29 pm

Today we took off to Georgetown.  The public library had a holocaust exhibit, focusing on five families from the little town of Roth.  I found it to be a wee bit anticlimactic as far as holocaust exhibits go, but it was interesting nonetheless.  It was a nice way to wrap up a long term study on Darwin and his bogus theories of evolution.  Hitler was lover of all Darwin’s theories as well as Eugenics.  When taken to its full and end, Darwinism looks like Germany in the early 1940’s.  It is so very sad that his ideas are being taught as truth and believed by multitudes.

On the way home, we had a wee bit of extra time, and Laura wanted to stop at Ikea.

What’s worse?

  1. The fact that I am nearly thirty-three years of age and I had not, until today, stepped foot into this store.

OR

2.  The fact that today, I stepped into this wonderland of goodies.

Here are the facts:

  1. Laura should be most ashamed of herself.  I was just fine, thank you,  before this day.
  2. I can never go there again.  I simply might not be able to contain myself.  My organization compulsion, just might over come my disorganized reality, in the presence of a large sum of money.
  3. I’m pretty safe because I don’t have a large sum of money.

I did pick up an art easel for the littles for $14.99.  Can’t beat that.  Especially in my house, were we go through about 500 pieces of paper a month.

I also spied these fun little thingy majiggers.

I immediately thought, ooh, I could sew bean bags for the children and make a fun game for them.

Laura suggested it would be a great project for this sweet thing.

So when I got home, I had her find some scrap fabric, and I cut out twelve squares.  Grace ironed them, and then sewed three sides together.  We loaded them with beans and I stitched up the ends.

In no time, we had a fun game, that three certain children in my house, think is particularly awesome.

Grace did a fabulous job.  She loves to sew.    I don’t.  I LOVE it in theory.  However, I am much too impatient, and once I start something I want it finished…NOW.  I guess I need instant gratification like that.  This was the perfect project for me, less than thirty minutes, start to finish.

Instant gratification.

A completed project.

Time with my daughter.

A fun game to keep a couple of hooligans occupied.

I would say it was the perfect end to a fun day.

 

5 Responses to “Hitler, Temptation, Sewing, & Beans”

  1. LauraDodson Says:

    I made our bean bags, too. Gracie’s are cuter. These buckets rock. I heart our easel. We primed our black board today, so it’s all ready to draw on.

    We had a good time today, too. And I wish I could say I was sorry for introducing you to IKEA…but I’m not. It was high time you went, and joined the rest of the natural world in resisting temptation when you enter its doors.

    Chipatil was tasty as well.
    Hej da.

  2. Tova Says:

    Oh Ikea,

    Don’t know if I love it or hate it. But I do know that it wants to fill the need in me that compulsively wants my whole world organized. Much like you, it’s good that I don’t have vast amounts of money. It’s a dangerous place. But it makes me feel good. And the kids can go play, and then we can all have cheap frozen yogurt. How is this bad? 🙂

  3. Shara Says:

    I wouldn’t picture you as an Ikea loving kind of girl. I enjoy it when we make it there. The kids love to play and I like the meatballs, but I’m glad it’s far enough away to not be a regular stop.

  4. Janet Says:

    I really don’t think most people actually know the TRUTH about Darwin’s “theories”. Maybe that’s whey they flock to him, en masse. Suckers. Just kidding. Well, a little……

  5. I can’t make this work…I’m already discouraged with wordpress.


Leave a Reply

