Faithful Remembrances Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

6 Things I Learned Last Weekend March 4, 2010

Filed under: Family — faithfulremembrances @ 9:42 am

1.  Track meets are REALLY long and BORING.

2.  I still get a REALLY bad sunburn when exposed to the sun, reflecting off bleachers, all day long.

3.  Some people REALLY do amaze me.  There was the sweetest seventh grade girl running the 2400 meter (that’s a mile and a half for you people who don’t know the metric system).  On the first around she lost one of her shoes.  Just before she finished her first lap, she lost her second shoe.  That child ran 1 1/4 miles WITHOUT her shoes, on that terribly rough tack.  She was in first place, by a long shot nearly the whole race, right up until the last lap, when she was finally overtaken.  She still placed second.  With no shoes.  Later I saw her being carried out by her Daddy, with her feet wrapped up.  I don’t care who you are, that’s amazing.  I know I don’t have that kind of determination about most things.  I was impressed.

4.  I am a wimp.  See numbers 2 and 3.

5.  I am also VERY vain.  When I woke up Sunday morning and saw that it was VERY obvious that while I did not wear sunblock, clearly I had worn sun glasses, I asked if I could stay home from church because I looked absolutely ridiculous.  My sweet and often times adoring husband, was not at all supportive.  It must be nice to NEVER get a sun burn.  Perhaps if he had, he would have been much more sympathetic to me.

6.  Sometimes it amazes me how well I know my children.  I mean really know them.  How they think and how they will respond to situations.  It also amazes me how many of my traits both good and bad, my children posses.  It leaves me wondering about that whole nature vs. nurture stuff.  Seriously.  Kaleb has so many of my fathers’ mannerisms, and they didn’t spend a whole lot of time  together.  I’m thinking there is whole lot more to nature than people like to let on.  Noah responds to new situations just like I do.  That’s probably why it irritates me so much.  He worries and frets  and swears up and down he can’t do something.  He freaks out.  Then once it’s over realizes that it was not a big deal at all.  No amount of telling him it is going to be fine helps.  It drives me nuts, because I also know how much he is capable of, and I hate to see him getting all worked up about something that he can totally do without any problems.

My four year old just gave me a big hug and kiss, the exclaimed, “Mommy, you need to go take a shower!”

I’m so glad she can talk now.

 

4 Responses to “6 Things I Learned Last Weekend”

  1. Tova Says:

    You are a horrible mother. 🙂 And apparently vain too.

    Selfishly, I NEED tech support! Apparently there is still a thumbnail of my password protected posts available to see. How do I change that setting. I’ve tried, really I have. But I’ve yelled at my kids because I am trying so hard to figure it out and not getting anywhere. I need help. Yes, I will admit it, in more ways than one.

    • faithfulremembrances Says:

      Yep, I know it’s true. Probably the only mother in the world that makes her children clean up there own vomit. Unless of course daddy is home. He is much better with puke than me.

      Tech support left you a message on your blog.

  2. Kori Says:

    Yep, I think there is a whole lot to that nature thing. 🙂 Forgot to tell you that the choir teacher thought Gracie was my child. We were in a hurry. I didn’t correct her. Oops. Oh well, she kinda has my coloring!! 🙂 My kids had gone to the van, and your child was in the bathroom. Gracie and I walked out together, and the teacher said, I just want you to know, she is doing great, and I said, “Oh, thank you!” And then we left. I told Gracie, I think she thinks I’m your mom, and she said, Maybe she meant Kaylie. 🙂 Anyway, I’m sure if I’d have walked out with Kaylie, she surely would have said Kaylie was doing really well, right? Oh well, I wonder if she’ll ever figure out whose child is whose. Reason #532 to not leave your kids alone at stuff like that. They don’t know which kid goes with which parent, and will let them leave with just about anyone!! 🙂

  3. Summer Says:

    Thanks for your recent blog comment. I look forward to being out of this house. I do believe my health will take a turn for the best. I have been sick for the better part of four years, ugh!

    And as usual, I love reading through your blog.


Leave a Reply

