Faithful Remembrances Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

I Thought May 18, 2010

Filed under: Adoption,Family,Hair,Marissa — faithfulremembrances @ 4:21 pm

this was going to be a post where I defended the fact that I have started locs in my daughter’s hair.

But it’s not.

Apparently that will have to wait about six to eight more weeks while we enjoy this hairstyle.

I won’t even begin to describe my disappointment (and soon to be Marissa’s) as I think about the four hours we spent in the salon today, only to realize the braids are too big and we are going to have to do this again…only with twice the braids.

On a happy note, today she looks good.

Queen Bee  is very happy with her new do.

 

5 Responses to “I Thought”

  1. Tova Says:

    too cute.

  2. Amanda Says:

    Love it!!! She looks gorgeous. I can’t wait to see her on Sunday.

  3. lauradodson Says:

    Gracoius, she’s beautiful!!!

    Why are they too big? Does it hurt for her to sleep on them?

    Did you go to the Sierra Leone place…or wherever the women are from? Or was it Somalia? I don’ t remember.

    • faithfulremembrances Says:

      It still hurts her right now, because her head is still tender from the lady pulling on her scalp. Yep, I went back to the Senegal place.

      Those ladies are just flat out mean I tell you.

      When she asked AGAIN when we were going to get her hair done again, I said, “Last time you cried a lot.” “Yes I did.” “Why did you cry a lot?” “Because she hurt me very really bad.” “It’s going to hurt again, you still want to go get you hair done?” “Yes.” “Are you going to cry again?” “Yes, because she hurt me very really bad.” “But you still want to go?” “Yes”

      Sigh.

      They are too big, because I am going to let them turn in to locs. I want tiny little braids so there is not so much scalp showing. Plus as they loc, we don’t want yucky big fat looking locs. Just cute tiny ones. More feminine…less dirty…I think.

      We’ll see.


Leave a Reply

