Faithful Remembrances Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Remember May 19, 2010

Filed under: Bible Study,Faith — faithfulremembrances @ 9:09 am

I am working on this covenant Bible study.  I am not real far into it, day two to be exact.   The study begins with first covenant God made with Noah and ultimately all future generations.  I have always thought it was so gracious of the Lord to give a sign to us of this great covenant, never again destroy all the earth with a flood.  I love it when the Lord places a big beautiful rainbow across the sky as a reminder of this great promise He made.

What I never thought about until today is how truly comforting those first rainbows must have been to Noah and his descendants.  Having endured the first rains, that ultimately ended with the total destruction of the entire earth and millions of people,  I wonder if when the rains began to fall again if fear might have crept in just a bit into the hearts of the people.  What a relief it must have been to look up toward the clouds, and see the reminder God had left for himself and His people.   A reminder of His promise to never again bring destruction through flood.

What a blessing it is to be in covenant with the same God who gave comfort to Noah and His people.  To live under grace, in which I have the promise of God to complete what He started in me, and to never leave me or forsake me, and finally bring me home to reign with Him forever.  What joy and peace is found in Jesus.  His scars my reminder that I will never fall under God’s wrath and destruction.  My sweet Jesus is ever living to intercede for me before the throne, reminding my Heavenly father that I am His child.  My life has been spared.  My soul redeemed.

 

Leave a Reply

