Faithful Remembrances Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Time to Move August 11, 2010

Filed under: Family — faithfulremembrances @ 8:41 am

It was a simple request.

A request that is repeated nearly every morning in our home.

“Grace, go feed and water the chickens, and bring in the eggs.”

Said child, happily bounces off to complete her task.

Soon, said child returns with slight look of horror on her face.

“Um, mommy….I don’t think you should go to the coop.”

I immediately start thinking that we must have another large snake in the coop devouring my precious eggs, so I timidly ask, “Snake?”

My sweet child’s reply?

“No ma’am.  It’s a really HUGE spider right in the doorway.”

Nice.

“Noah, go feed the spider to the chickens and get my eggs please.”

I, safe inside, away from the HUGE spider, contentedly continue to make my bread.

Then I hear multiple screams of alarm from my children.

I think to myself, if Noah is screaming, it must be bad.

Bad like I have a chicken eating spider in my back yard.

Bad like somehow Sheila  survived Sam’s attack and has come to live with me.

I put on my brave face and head over to check things out.  I am after all trying to conquer this silly little phobia of mine.

Turns out it’s not so silly.

That’s a 2 x 4 that thing is on in case you’re wondering.

I was shaking so much I could hardly get a good picture.

Clearly this can only mean one thing.

I must move.

Today.

 

12 Responses to “Time to Move”

  1. Kaleb Burpee Says:

    Michigan here we come.

  2. Those are great pictures. And I tried to find an online field guide to determine the genus and species–and make it less creepy by turning it into a science lesson. Alas, I ended up just looking at more pictures of even creepier spiders! Those things are awful. All those eyes and furry fangs and legs…UGH. I concur. Spiders are scream-worthy. And I’m a science teacher! I’ll hold a snake any day before a spider. shiver.

    As a science teacher, I reserve the right to examine them under the scope–DEAD. teehee.

    • faithfulremembrances Says:

      I will look at ANYTHING under a scope…but not spiders. What if it were resurrected from the dead? Then while I was looking at it through the scope it scurried up and onto my face where it then proceeded to inject me with it’s toxins, wherein my face begins to rot and it then begins to devour my face?

      Spiders dead or alive simply cannot be trusted.

      Period.

  3. Kori Says:

    You crack me up. Seriously. He doesn’t want to bother you, he just wants to help you control the bug population. You know, the bugs that were eating the plants in your garden—Before the goat got to them. 🙂 You’ve got to learn to accept help graciously. Without screaming. That’s all.

  4. Cheryl Says:

    oh my… that is super scary… kinda creepy… but then really cool. i would have totally screamed out loud… yep. ~shiver~

  5. Tova Says:

    I agree. with the moving thing. We do NOT get spiders like that here. You should move here. Yup, you should. Plus, photo’s like that should have a warning. I felt cold and clammy and vomitous looking at those.

    • faithfulremembrances Says:

      So what if I said that Canada is so out of the question….I mean I hear you guys have very strict gun control laws. My husband and my sons are simply not going to be willing to give up their collection ;0) Unless of course I heard wrong.

      Although the lack of spiders and poisonous snakes is a HUGE plus.

  6. Keltie Says:

    Alberta is where you need to be. It’s just like Texas, except waaaay too cold for nasty things like big ‘ol spiders. There’s tons of hunting going on here. Plus we live really close to Santa. I could put in a good word for you. 😉

  7. Tova Says:

    Canada used to not allow guns very much. We’ve relaxed on that. Alot. C’mon up! See you tomorrow…

  8. Janet T. Says:

    WOW. That is a BIG ONE! My kids would LOVE it! What kind is it? What does it eat? (Other than you?) I have to say, it might creep me out to see one that big. We’re used to itsy bitsy ones up here.

  9. Emily Says:

    We have those here too. That make really pretty webs. Really they are helpful creatures, except the brown recluses and black widows. I’m pretty sure those are straight from Satan.


Leave a Reply

