Faithful Remembrances Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Heard at My House and In Laura’s Car September 6, 2010

Filed under: Family — faithfulremembrances @ 10:42 am

It’s tough being a thirteen year old boy.

I know I’ve never been one, but I have had two.  Based on that experience alone, I can say with all certainty it’s difficult.

Way back when Kaleb was thirteen people would call our house and he would answer.  They would ALWAYS think it was me.  Some people would talk on and on without stopping, so he would get a good earful, before he would say, “So, do you want to talk to my mom?”

I’m not sure who would feel more sheepish, Kaleb or the person on the other end.

He’s got a man voice now.

Noah on the other hand, not so much.

So last Friday I am sitting on my bed and I hear the phone ring.  This is the conversation that took place.

Noah: “Hello Mrs.Dodson.

Caleb Dodson:  “Hi Mrs. Burpee, this is Caleb, can I talk to Noah?”

Noah: “Oh, Hi Caleb, this IS Noah.”

Even only hearing Noah’s side of the conversation I knew what had just taken place, and was laughing hysterically.

When he got off the phone, I just HAD to call Laura, because if she didn’t hear all that taken place she needed to hear about it.

So I call her, still laughing.

She answers phone, laughing.

We had a good laugh together.

Ah, good times.

For now.

It won’t be long before they have man voices too.

 

4 Responses to “Heard at My House and In Laura’s Car”

  1. Emily Says:

    I am one of those people you are talking about. I think Kaleb enjoyed it a little bit. There was always a little chuckle in his voice before he asked if I wanted to talk to his mom. I think last time I got it wrong, I asked to speak to his wife. I think he probably enjoyed that even more.

  2. lauradodson Says:

    “Gaaaah! I gotta hit puberty NOW!” exclaimed Caleb.

  3. Tova Says:

    Oh, the things I get to look forward too! So excited about that. We just did the math around here and realized that when #4 comes home we will have a 11, 12, 14 and 15 in 8 years. With the 12 and 14 being girls. Fun times to come!!!! 🙂


Leave a Reply

