Faithful Remembrances Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Choosing to SEE October 13, 2010

Filed under: Family — faithfulremembrances @ 8:59 pm

I just started reading Choosing to See: A Journey of Struggle and Hope by Mary Beth Chapman.

So far it’s good. Real good.

Richard made fun of me because I cried my eyes out during the forward. He finds it hilarious that I couldn’t even make it through the forward.  However,  as everyone in this house knows, if he was reading, he would have been crying WAY before me.

Some quotes that have resonated with me thus far:

“Love of God is pure when joy and suffering inspire an equal degree of gratitude.” Simone Weil

“What I have found is that it’s in the most unlikely times and places of hurt and chaos that God gives us a profound sense of His presence and the real light of His hope in the dark places.” Mary Beth Chapman

“I have found that even during those times when the path is the darkest, He leaves little bits of evidence along the way-bread crumbs of grace-that can give me what I need to take the next step. But I can only find them If I choose to see.” Mary Beth Chapman

I haven’t walked the dark path of the loss of a child, but I have seen some dark valleys in the last few years.  I have learned that the God of all Grace is all sufficient even in my deepest need in my darkest night.

I have been sustained on bread crumbs of grace, and was not found wanting.

Praise be to his Name.

 

2 Responses to “Choosing to SEE”

  1. Tova Says:

    Hallelujah and AMEN! The most clearly I have felt God’s presence was in the middle of my horrible night. I have never felt LESS alone. I can’t even describe it, other than to say it was tangible. It’s been something that I hang onto when healing and processing.

  2. sharla Says:

    I just finished her book last weekend and can tell you that many tears were shed. It took me so long to get through the chapters of the days right after Maria’s death. I kept having to put it down to compose myself and because I couldn’t see the words through my tears at times. But a great book. God’s bread crumbs of grace have sustained me through hard times too.


Leave a Reply

