Faithful Remembrances Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

I’m Gonna Say This Again October 20, 2010

Filed under: Family — faithfulremembrances @ 12:21 pm

Choosing to SEE is a must read book.

Reading it is like having a conversation with a longtime friend.  I laughed out loud so many times and for so long my sides hurt.   Likewise, I had to put the book down on several occasions  as tears were too many to continue reading.   It is witty, fresh, and raw.  I love that she isn’t afraid to laugh at herself and that she allows her reader to come along and laugh with her.  I love that she is willing to open up and share a most painful part of her life and her heart, for the good of others.  I love that through it all, she recognizes she has  Father who loves her, and whose plans are not her plans, and whose thoughts are not her thoughts.  I love that she knows and lives the truth that His plans are good and working His purposes, even when all looks dark.   I love that this is not another grief book.  Enough of the 12 steps to overcoming grief, getting over your loss, and all that crud.  I know those books are helpful and have their place, however,  a real honest look at hurting and grief was in order, and Mary Beth supplied.  She’s not afraid to say the truth.  The truth that she will never get over her loss.  She will move on, she will learn to live the new normal,  she will survive, but she will never be over it…and that’s OK.  I loved hearing about the comfort the God of all comfort gave the Chapman’s  in the weeks and months and years after Maria went home.  He is that kind of God.  He loves us, and He does not leave us alone in our pain.  He hears us when we call, and He answers time and time again.  Just like a good Daddy always does.

Seriously, get the book and read it.  You won’t be disappointed, I promise.  When you buy it, go ahead and get a box of Kleenex, you’re gonna need them.

*While I would love to get paid to give my opinions, I don’t.  This is a review based solely on the fact that I loved this book and think it’s story to be shared… not because there is some monetary compensation in it for me ;0)
 

3 Responses to “I’m Gonna Say This Again”

  1. Keltie Says:

    I will put this on my Christmas wish list and then hope someone asks me to see it. lol

  2. Tova Says:

    Do you think I could handle reading it right now? Or too many tears?

    • faithfulremembrances Says:

      It is sad…as she recounts the accident and Maria’s death…but it is also filled with hope. I would read it, hope in the darkness, it’s what we all need. If it gets to bee too much you could always put it down. This is a book that I normally would have read in a couple hours, due to the nature of it it took me a week…I had to take breaks to process it.


Leave a Reply

