Faithful Remembrances Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Only What He Says November 12, 2010

Filed under: Family — faithfulremembrances @ 9:41 pm

Today while driving home we heard THIS song on the radio.  Grace’s interest was piqued because this is a song she had never heard before, and she loves her some new music.  Especially when it’s a woman on vocals.  We teach our children to listen not only to the music, but to pay very close attention to the words.  So she was listening quite intently to the lyrics.

After the first two verses, she was utterly dumbfounded.

“He cries in the corner where nobody sees
He’s the kid with the story no one would believe
He prays every night, “Dear God won’t you please
Could you send someone here who will love me?”

Who will love me for me
Not for what I have done or what I will become
Who will love me for me
‘Cause nobody has shown me what love
What love really means

Her office is shrinking a little each day
She’s the woman whose husband has run away
She’ll go to the gym after working today
Maybe if she was thinner
Then he would’ve stayed
And she says…

Who will love me for me?
Not for what I have done or what I will become
Who will love me for me?
‘Cause nobody has shown me what love, what love really means”

She simply COULD NOT fathom not being loved for who she is.  She couldn’t even begin to grasp the concept of trying to be someone you’re not so that others would accept you.

She questioned me, then informed that it was just ridiculous to make a song like that.

Certainly everyone in the world feels the way she does.

Loved, accepted, and cherished just the way she is.

Two things struck me about her and this particular moment in our lives.

1.  I was just thinking a couple of days ago about how we were doing raising these girls of ours.  I wondered if they truly felt loved.  I wondered if they honestly felt comfortable with who they are.  I wondered if they felt beautiful and cherished.  I wondered if they felt accepted.  After all isn’t this the longing of every little girl…the longing of every woman?  Today God was gracious enough to give me an answer, at least for one of my precious jewels.   Today at nearly nine years old Grace knows that she is treasured and adored, and she is confident in that.

2.  All in one instant I felt so much joy and so much sorrow. Joy because she has not experienced the heartache of so many.  Sorrow because someday she might.  Maybe she will spend the rest of her days knowing her value and worth.  Maybe she will never question her loveliness and glorious beauty.  Perhaps she will always have in the forefront of her mind that she is perfect the way she is, formed fearfully and wonderfully in the image of her Creator, who loves her with a fierce and everlasting love.  Maybe she will forever be in place where she knows her value doesn’t come in a dress size, a paycheck, a man, friends, clothes, social status, family, ministry or any of the other millions of things we as women can base our worth on.  Maybe, just maybe she will always remember and be confident because the God of all the universe LOVES her, has set His affection on her, redeemed her, and claimed her as His bride.

Then again maybe she won’t.  Maybe like millions who have gone before her she will forget.  Maybe she will start to question.  Maybe one day she’ll look in the mirror and question whether or not she is loved and cherished.  Maybe she will look and wonder if she is beautiful enough and thin enough.  Maybe she will fret because she doesn’t have all the right clothes and all the right friends.  Maybe she’ll feel rejected and unloved because no man has taken her for his bride.  Maybe she’ll start to believe the lies, if only she was thinner, if only she had more money, if only she could make a name for herself, if only she could be successful in all she does, if only she had a man….All lies from the enemy of her soul, but maybe she’ll believe them, and it breaks my heart.

I know the pain of the if only’s, I can hear them bellowing in my ear.

Everyday I see women around me giving in to lies of the one who only seeks to steal their joy, to kill their confidence, and destroy their souls.

All the while a still small voice whispers, “I have loved you with an everlasting love.  I have fashioned you in body and spirit according to my grand design.   Before I even laid the foundations of this world, I knew you.  I knew just how I would fashion and shape you.  I knew the color of your eyes, the beauty of your smile, and the shape of your body.   I have loved you with an everlasting love.  I created you to reflect my glory.  I created you to live as one who rests in the shadow of my wings, not one who strives to please man.  I have loved you with an everlasting love.  I have chosen you to be my bride.  I have washed you and clothed you in my robes of righteousness.  I have loved you with an everlasting love.  Draw near to me and I will draw near to you, for I will never leave you nor forsake you.  I have loved you with an everlasting love.”

Oh how I pray my darling daughters always know they are valued, beautiful, and cherished.  Not just by me and their daddy, but by their amazingly wonderful God.

I pray they never forget that since the King of all Creation, the Holy One of Israel, the Creator of Heaven and Earth, has deemed them worthy…they are.

I pray that they remember that this Awesome God is not like man that he should lie.  I pray they remember His Word is Truth, and His word is filled with how much He loves them, how much He cares for them, and how beautiful He finds them to be.  I pray they never look to man for acceptance, but  instead remember that because of God’s great love for them, Christ came, and they are now forever acceptable to the Lord Most High.  I pray that they always believe that His acceptance is enough, and since His acceptance is enough, the draw of this world and the lies of the enemy will have no effect on them.  I pray they relish in the fact that He has called them His precious Bride, and in that they remember that the God of all Glory, Wisdom, Majesty, and Might was DELIGHTED to call them His own.  I pray they will remain confident, because they know that since God is for them who could be against them.  I pray they forever find their value, not in the things of this world, but in the God of Heaven and who He has declared them to be.

After all, it’s only what He says that matters.

 

Leave a Reply

