Faithful Remembrances Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

The Cure Has Begun December 10, 2010

Filed under: Family — faithfulremembrances @ 8:29 am

Last night I read The Voyage of the Dawn Treader.

I love C.S. Lewis.

Even though the series is meant for children, every time I read, I am moved at the deep theology within the pages.

Last night was no exception.

Eustace had a dragon like heart, and it had turned him into a dragon.

His attempts to rid himself of his scales was futile.

Time and time again his scales just kept returning.

At last the Lion tells the boy that the only way he’ll be rid of the scales is if HE cleans them off.

Painfully and gloriously Eustace is freed from his scales as Aslan’s claws rip at his flesh.

He is then thrown in to the pool by Alsan and rises a new boy.

Then I read the words, “It would be nice, and fairly nearly true, to say that from that time forth Eustace was a different boy. To be strictly accurate, he began to be a different boy.  He had relapses.  There were still many days when he could be very tiresome.  But most of those I shall not notice.  The cure had begun.”

I’m not so different from Eustace.  I was once a scaly and horrid sight. Multiple attempts at cleaning myself up resulted in multiple failures.  Then the Lion of the tribe of Judah scraped my flesh clean, plunged me into his blood, and made me new.  Often along the way the peeling away of my flesh is painful, but it is needful.

From that time forth I am a different girl.

I have relapses.

but

I have hope

because the cure has begun.

 

One Response to “The Cure Has Begun”

  1. Kori Says:

    I just read your post to K & L. They liked it. You are a very good teacher. :0) When you are reading these books to your kids, do you stop and point out these analogies? I see them, but get so caught up in the story, that I don’t mention it. We discuss it later, but I wonder if I should do it right then and there, in the middle of the reading…..


Leave a Reply

