Faithful Remembrances Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Heard at Chick-Fil-A January 3, 2011

Filed under: Family — faithfulremembrances @ 4:21 pm

I heart Chick-Fil-A.

I feel sorry for you poor chaps who don’t have one nearby.

Honestly, not having one nearby is on my top ten reasons not to move from this place.

I digress.

On the way home from Michigan everyone wanted to eat there for lunch.  We held out until Texarkana because we knew it was the closest one.

As we pulled into town, it hit me.

It’s Sunday.

I meekly informed my family that there would be no chicken goodness and dashed their hopes for waffle fries and lemon pie.

Everyone broke out in spontaneous chorus of this song.

If you ever watch a musical and think to yourself, “Really, who spontaneously starts singing like that?”  Remember my family, because we do…all the time.

ANYWAY.

Richard and I would not be deterred, so we went for a short but impromptu (it’s getting crazy around here with my new-found spontaneity) lunch date today.

As I sat there waiting on my beloved, I began to read  the signs up on the wall that talk about the ministries that the founder of Chick-Fil-A started.

I promptly started to cry.

If I hadn’t been so proud and in public it might have been an ugly cry.

For whatever reason, I was moved because I eat at this restaurant, as a result, in some REALLY small way orphans are cared for and marriages  strengthened.

As I heard the Christian music in the background, with words praising my Jesus…it was just too much.

So I cried.

Thankfully I had not yet received my food, so my waffle fries did not get soggy.

Richard, who was stifling his laughter asked me to pray.

Thanking Jesus for my food and all that I had just experienced made me cry more.

No I am not pregnant.  I don’t even have PMS.  I was just crying, like a big baby that’s all.

There is this girl who works at this particular store whom I love.

Her name is Andrea and she has Down Syndrome.

I always talk to her when I am in there and she is absolutely the sweetest person employed by any Chick-Fil-A anywhere.

She saw me crying, and promptly came over to ask if I was all right.

I gave her a big hug and told her that I was indeed just fine.

I was now laughing and crying…I knew I was being ridiculous and now I knew everyone around me knew it too.

Andrea, then turns to Richard and says, “You didn’t make her cry did you?  What did you do to her?”

She then acts like she is going to take him down if he did anything to make me cry, she let him know she wasn’t going to stand for it.

Then I was just laughing so hard, I was crying even more.

I really do love that girl.

Sigh…good times for me.

 

Leave a Reply

