Faithful Remembrances Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Bullets, because it’s all I can do May 13, 2011

Filed under: Family — faithfulremembrances @ 10:23 am
  • We moved to Michigan.  I still. cannot. believe. it.

  • Only our family would move across the country and drive through raging floods in three states.  Only us I swear.  It was good though because we got to see God protect us the whole way.  Plus crossing the mighty Mississippi at flood stage added to my faith dramatically, not just in God but in our “failing infrastructure” as well.

  • Ever heard a family call in to Dave Ramsey’s radio show and scream, “I”M DEBT FREE!!!!!” ?  I may or may not have screamed like a family relived from the burden of debt when we pulled into our new home town.  Only I might have screamed something like, “I DON’T LIVE IN TEXAS ANYMORE!!!!!”

  • I don’t write that to make anyone who we left behind feel forgotten and unloved…becuase I miss a lot of you people like CRAZY.

  • After my freedom yell, the children starting cracking jokes about how amazing Michigan is, like the pure Michigan commercials.  William yells from the back, “Yep, and every sickness will be gone and every tear wiped away.”  That kid, I tell ya, has one heck of a sense of humor and great timing.  He fits in well around here with the rest of these people God gave me.

  • The day after we arrived I was climbing up into Tim and Amy’s house and  injured my wrist.  I originally thought I broke it, then decided it was just sprained.  However , now that it has been more than a week and it still hurts like the dickens, I am going back to my original thought…it must be broken.  Conveniently I injured it just minutes before we unloaded our 26 foot moving truck filled to overflowing with our junk.  I’ll do anything to get out of work you know.

  • The purchase of 5.5 acres of land is in the works.

  • Working on building plans so we have some place to live on that 5.5 acres.  Prayerfully by the time the snow rolls in we will be done and have on decent place here totally debt free.  A post on how we plan to that is in the works.

  • We adore our new church family.

  • I will never get over the pure tranquility of seeing Amish buggies.

  • The children are adjusting wonderfully and have not been freaked out at all.

  • I on the other hand may have had a few moments of freaking out.  Maybe.   The first occurred just outside of Chicago.  In a moment of panic, I briefly thought to myself, “Oh Lord, we moved to Michigan, what on earth have we done????”  For the most part I am adjusting quite well too.  The Lord is gracious to remind me He is with me wherever I go.

  • Ads are in the papers and Richard has made several contacts already for work.  We are praying that some work rolls in soon.

  • That’s all I can give for now because my wrist is throbbing and the laundry is calling.

 

4 Responses to “Bullets, because it’s all I can do”

  1. kristine Says:

    YOU MOVED TO MICHIGAN!

    I can’t believe it either.

    Guess what.

    I MOVED TO PRAGUE!

    I know some of what you are going through. Praise the Lord my wrist is okay. LOL Will pray for healing of yours.

    Tell all of those people you love hello.

  2. Tova Says:

    WOW! YAY! Can I come visit? I need tranquility right now!

  3. lauradodson Says:

    So I’ve been trying to keep myself busy and live in denial cuz I really miss y’all that.much.

    I asked Jeff to call Richard to come trim our trees.

    Not looking forward to the pool without yall.

    Glad yall made it safe and sound and that you were able to escape unloading, but not glad for your wrist.

    It’s unseasonably cool.

    Waiting impatiently for PICTURES of lush, rolling hills, verdant landscapes, and horse drawn buggies clopping along, acreage, and all those dang berries that just fall from the sky…practically.

    Waiting impatiently for our check so we can come visit.

  4. AmyG Says:

    All of that is great to hear…except the wrist part.
    So glad the kiddos are taking the transition well.

    Went to the SPC 10th anniversary dinner last night. You were in some of the photos…made me miss you even more!

    Hugs to all of you Michiganites!!!


Leave a Reply

