Faithful Remembrances Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Wisdom June 30, 2011

Filed under: Family — faithfulremembrances @ 8:47 am

Maybe it’s a sign that I am getting old.

Maybe it’s just indicative of the many unexpected and tough trials we have faced over the last handful of years.

Maybe its spiritual growth.

Maybe it’s a combination of the three.

Although I would much rather contribute it solely to reason three.  After all age and trials may have lessened my pride, but they haven’t killed it.

Whatever the reason, I have come to realize this: I don’t really know anything.

I don’t really have answers for life’s problems.

I have so far to go, so much to learn, and I have a great need for far more growth in grace.

I can see so very clearly that wisdom and understanding come from God and time.

Lots of time, to experience lots of things.  To see those things played out, and how they impact lives.  See what choices were wrong and which ones were right.  Not just see, but  also learn the lessons God has in each of those experiences, then pass on those things to others with humility and love.  Wisdom comes from seeing God’s faithful hand time and time again. Not just in good times, and provision….but in the times of trail and want.  Wisdom trains us to say  in the midst of heartache,  that God is good.  God is faithful.  His loving kindness will never fail.  Though He slay me, yet will I trust Him.

So while I do not have the answers to my own problems, let alone everyone else’s.

I do know the One who does.

I know in whom I have believed and am persuaded that he is able to keep that which I have committed unto Him.

I know the One who began a good work in me and trust that He will bring it into completion.

I know the One who loves, even unto death.  Death on a cross.  Which brought me life, even while I was still in my trespasses and sin.

I know the One sustains me with His words and His grace.

I know the One who is all wise.

Maybe I am getting closer to the point in my life where I know nothing but Christ and Him crucified.

In that knowledge comes all comfort and power and wisdom.

Maybe I’ll get there someday.

Until that day comes to pass, I will keep looking to the One who knows all I’ve ever done, and loves me still.

 

2 Responses to “Wisdom”

  1. linda wolfe Says:

    Melissa, you have so been given the gift of word and expression and I am so grateful to our Lord that He did because the words of this blog entry help me to express my own heart in a much better way than I could. I know I have told you this before but I encourage you to continue to use this great gift and in doing so l laugh, cry, and am driven to thought in a way that helps me to grow. Miss you guys!


Leave a Reply

