Faithful Remembrances Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Dribbling and Stumbling July 5, 2011

Filed under: Family — faithfulremembrances @ 7:31 am

I have been reading a new novel entitled The Eve Tree.  So far it’s a pretty good read.  I most assuredly can relate in some ways to the main character.  As I was reading yesterday I came across a quote that resonated with me.

“We don’t all have the same vessel to work with.  If you’re pouring dribbles from your leaky tin cup, but you keep on filling and pouring, it counts the same as when you’re a sea that breaks waves over all the folks around you.” 

Somehow it instantly reminded me of a quote from one of my favorite C.S. Lewis books: The Screw Tape Letters.   In this book, Screwtape trains the demon Wormwood on the finer points of making the people of God stumble and reject Him.  It really is a great read.  At one point Screwtape says to Wormwood,  “He wants them to learn to walk and must therefore take away His hand; and if only the will to walk is really there He is pleased even with their stumbles. Do not be deceived, Wormwood. Our cause is never more in danger, than when a human, no longer desiring, but intending, to do our Enemy’s will, looks round upon a universe from which every trace of Him seems to have vanished, and asks why he has been forsaken, and still obeys.”

Here I am Lord.

Filling and dribbling from my leaky tin cup, intending to do Your will, stumbling all the while.

Taking comfort and joy in the knowledge that you are pleased with my simple offerings of faith.

May whatever my hands find to do bring honor and praise to You, My God and my King.

 

2 Responses to “Dribbling and Stumbling”

  1. lauradodson Says:

    so good for us right now…

  2. lauradodson Says:

    It is now July 22. Ahem.


Leave a Reply

