Faithful Remembrances Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Of Dreams and Husbands September 8, 2011

Filed under: Family — faithfulremembrances @ 7:40 am

Last night I had the most horrible dream I have ever had in my entire sleeping existence.

Horrible.

Terrifying.

The kind where you wake up in a cold sweat.

It was like one of those dreams where you find yourself naked in public.  Only this was far worse.

There I was,  in my little dream state, when suddenly the whole world came crashing down around me.

I was happily cleaning (that right there is an indication it was a dream) off my desk when I came across a packet of papers.

I pulled the papers out to read what they were, and all in one instant felt like the most horrible mother in all the world and had intense panic.

That packet of papers informed me that I had two children waiting for me in Uganda, and our flight was scheduled to leave in 5 hours.

WHAT???

How could I forget that we were adopting?

How on earth could I forget our day of travel?

I started yelling at the kids to get the suitcases, while I called Richard.

“Honey!  We are adopting from Uganda again and  our plane leaves in 5 hours.  I don’t have anything packed and I FORGOT THAT WE WERE EVEN DOING THIS!!!!  WHAT KIND OF MOTHER FORGETS SHE IS ADOPTING??????  You have to come home right now.”

Then he did what he always does, that infuriates me and cause me to have bad thoughts and occasionally bad reactions. Like hives, and something strange that makes my voice raise to unacceptable levels.  Really what kind of person never gets worked up about anything?  Ever.

He ever so CALMLY replies, “Yes, that’s right we are adopting and our plane does leave in 5 hours.  You just need to calm down.  It’s no big deal.  I’ll be home soon.”

“NO BIG DEAL?” I scream into the phone.  “How could it not be a big deal?  I cannot even pack because ALL of our clothes are dirty.  Which means I have to go to the store and buy us all new clothes AND pack.  We don’t even have snacks and comfort food.  Do you understand that I cannot spend another five weeks in africa without sour punch straws????”

Still he was calm.

I slammed down the phone (which was a phone with a cord…they still make those???) in a panicked rage.

Then I woke up.

In a panicked rage.

Looked over and saw my calm, peacefully sleeping husband.

I wanted to punch him.

It figures that he would be calm after the most disturbing dream ever.

 

2 Responses to “Of Dreams and Husbands”

  1. Tova Says:

    Laughing and sympathizing all at once!

  2. Charlie Says:

    Funny!


Leave a Reply

