Faithful Remembrances Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Contentment September 12, 2011

Filed under: Family — faithfulremembrances @ 12:39 pm

When we moved to Michigan we had a litany of reasons for doing so.

Not one day have we regretted it.

One of the reasons we chose to come here is the prospect of having a home and a bit more land than we had in Texas.  We hoped for that land and home to be completely ours, free of debt.  Why not get land In Texas?  For starters land prices are significantly higher in Texas.  To be completely honest, I am at a loss as to why since nothing has grown there since like 1812.  We wanted to have enough acreage to hunt on and to be able to grow a good portion of our food.  All in hopes of saving money for the possibility of long term missionary work in the future and funding some people dear to us right now.  Rain is abundant and the soil fertile here.  It has only taken us a few months to realize that what you see on all those pure Michigan commercials is the truth…and much of what you hear about Michigan on the news is not.

We have the land, and so onward we move with building our home.

We fully recognize that this process will take longer and most likely cost more than we can fathom.

Already it has taken an inordinate amount of time to even purchase the land, and getting utilities on site are going to prove just as time consuming.

In the interim, we have decided to move into an RV.

Yes, I know it sounds crazy.

Yes, I know it is going to be hard.

Yes, I know winter is fast approaching.

Yes, I know I have children.

Yes, I know I homeschool them.

We are hoping that this will allow us to save money each month to go toward the building process.  Not to mention we are going to be completing the majority of the building on our own, meaning no contractors.  Being there will enable us to work in the evenings without regard to traveling home each evening.

I know that the Lord is taking me into a season of being content.  While I have never been one to be desirous of a big fancy home with all the lovely trappings, I would like a bit more space than a few hundred square feet.  It is easy for me to focus on all the things we will not have during the next year or so.  Doing so produces in me much fear, anger, and confusion.  This moment, and prayerfully every moment to come I will have fresh on my heart that I have infinitely more than I could ever hope for.  I have Jesus.  As if that were not enough He has given us an abundance of food, and a warm place to lay our heads.  We are blessed.

For a while I kept telling myself that it was only temporary.  My wise end beautiful mother loving reminded me that EVERY home I will have here is temporary.  This is not my home.  It reminded me of all the reasons we are not desirous of a big fancy house.  This is not our home, this is not where we belong.  We are passing through.  For us, being too comfortable often translates into our lives as complacency.  We truly do not see a home as an investment.   I know a million people feel contrary to that and would be willing to argue the finer points of real estate investing with me.  Frankly, that is not where God has our family.  There is no heavenly return on that earthy investment.  While we falter daily, truly we want to only invest in things that bring us eternal reward.  The only thing we see as a true and lasting investment is people.  So, even in our building a home, it will be small.  It will not be anything special.  It will do it’s intended purpose of providing a place for ministering to those long term investments.  It will provide a place to go back to when we have spent many months ministering to investments in a far away places.  The home, when the end of the world has come, will be like all the others: fuel for the fire.  It will be destroyed.

I no longer will strive to make myself content with the thought that living in a RV is temporary.  I will strive to be content based on what the Lord of Heaven and earth says should make me content.

“Let your conduct be without covetousness; and be content with what you have: for He has said, I will never leave you, nor forsake you.” – Hebrews 13:5

I should be content because I have the Lord and He has promised never to leave or forsake me.  What more could a girl ask for?

“But godliness with contentment is great gain. For we brought nothing into the world, and we can take nothing out of it. But if we have food and clothing, we will be content with that.”  1 timothy 1:6

We have food, we have clothing…with that we should be content.

“A heart at peace gives life to the body, but envy rots the bones.”  Proverbs 14:30

“A happy heart makes the face cheerful, but heartache crushes the spirit.”  Proverbs 15:13

It is my great desire to this hard thing with a happy heart.  I want my countenance to give life to my family.  That old saying about mama being happy is true.  I truly believe that it is me who will set the tone in our home.  I pray I can set the example of cheerfulness, thankfulness, contentedness, and joy.  I would love to be able to set before my children this process as and adventure and teach them to enjoy each moment.  To search for God in it.  To search their own hearts and see what this Life Giver is trying to teach them.

I have an amazing man.  I swear they don’t come any better.  I don’t want to make this process harder on him that it need be.  While he can handle a bit of complaining from me, too much and he quickly feels overwhelmed and it speaks to his soul that he is inadequate, that he has some how failed his family.  I don’t want him to feel that way.  God knows I already have so many times in the past.  It is my prayer that through this I can honor him.  I do not want to be a continual dripping.

Above all else I wish to honor my Lord with this season in my life.  He is all wise.  He is always good.  This is what He has for us.  I wish to praise Him in it.

By His grace I will.

 

 

Leave a Reply

